Committee Chairs

The following individuals are the Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs. Please contact a committee if you are interested in helping out.

Programs Chair:
Necolle Maccherone, CFM
National Cooperating Technical Partners Lead
1304 Concourse Drive, Suite 200
Linthicum, MD 21090
Phone: 410-689-3443
Cell: 443-812-5824

Membership Chair:
Paul Slonac, CFM
Technical Manager
Michael Baker Jr., Inc.
1304 Concourse Drive, Suite 200
Linthicum, MD 21090
Phone: 410-689-3488

Paul is a Technical Manager for Michael Baker Jr., Inc. and currently works in supporting FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.  In his current capacity, Paul participates in a variety of national and regional program and project management activities.  During his 11 years of ongoing support to FEMA and the NFIP, Paul has worked in supporting a variety of process areas within the NFIP such as Letters of Map Amendments (LOMA), Flood Insurance Studies, training, and project management activities.  Paul is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh and has been a Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM) for 8 years.

Mitigation Co-Chair:
Mark D. James, CFM
State Hazard Mitigation Officer, Mitigation Division
Preparedness Directorate
Maryland Emergency Management Agency
5401 Rue Saint Lo Drive
Reisterstown, MD 21136
Phone: 410-802-9990

The State Hazard Mitigation Officer’s duties (SHMO) include the oversight, development, review and integration of state and local Hazard Mitigation Plans and projects.  I am responsible for providing technical oversight, cost and schedule control, and interface between senior state and local officials.  The SHMO is the principle manager for the development and completion of the Maryland Emergency Preparedness Plan that includes the State’s Emergency Operations Plan, the States Preparedness Plan and the States Recovery plan.

Mitigation Co-Chair:
Kevin G. Wagner
Natural Resources Planner
Maryland Department of the Environment
160 South Water Street
Frostburg, MD 21532
Phone: 301-689-1495

Kevin has over 20 years of experience.  He coordinates the Community Assistance Program where he provides technical assistance on the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) throughout Maryland.  He also supports FEMA’s Flood Map Modernization and Risk MAP programs.  Kevin has an Associates degree from Anne Arundel Community College, a Bachelors degree in Environmental Analysis and Planning from Frostburg State University, and completed additional coursework at the Community College of Baltimore County at Catonsville and the Emergency Management Institute (EMI) in Emmitsburg.

Mapping and Technology Co-Chair:
Laura Chap, P.E., CFM
Senior Water Resources Engineer
3901 Calverton Blvd., Suite 400
Calverton, MD 20705
Phone: 301-210-6800

Laura is a senior water resources engineer at Atkins.  She manages and reviews the engineering work for watershed planning and floodplain mapping studies. Her project experience includes various types of hydrologic and hydraulic analysis, used for both detailed and approximate flood studies, drainage improvements, stormwater planning, and land development.

Mapping and Technology Co-Chair:
Patrick Varga, CFM
Floodplain Management/GIS Specialist
Carroll County Government
225 North Center Street
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: 410-386-2844

Pat has worked for the Carroll County Government since 2006 after graduating from UMBC in 2005.  He runs the Floodplain Management and CRS programs for the County and also provides GIS support for the Bureau of Resource Management for MS4 and NPDES compliance.  His duties also include reviewing local permits, hydrologic and hydraulic analyses, and land developments.

Outreach and Public Relations Chair:
Benjamin Kaiser, P.E., CFM
Engineering Manager
12420 Milestone Center Drive, Suite 150
Germantown, MD 20876
Phone: 301-820-3230

Ben has over 10 years experience working in support of the National Flood Insurance Program, primarily focusing on FEMA flood studies and Letters of Map Change.   He has been a Certified Floodplain Manager since 2006.

Stormwater Co-Chair:
Mary E. Roman, P.E., CFM
Program Manager, Water Resources
430 National Business Parkway, Suite 400
Annapolis Junction, MD 20701
Phone: 443-737-1290

Mary E. Roman, PE, CFM, a Program Manager with AECOM, has 30 years of experience specializing in water resources engineering.  She has provided water resources services for over 20 of the 24 counties in the State of Maryland.  She is a registered engineer in Maryland and a Certified Floodplain Manager.  She has performed numerous comprehensive watershed studies focusing on flooding, water quality, and stream restoration and she has provided technical support for municipal and industrial NPDES stormwater programs.  Ms. Roman has been active in MAFSM since 2004 and held the position of Chair from 2007-2010.

Stormwater Co-Chair:
Rachel Beebe
Sustainability Project Manager
Howard County Government
Office of Community Sustainability
3430 Court House Drive
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: 410-313-0678